It’s Your Choice!

For today’s blog, I’d like to begin by quoting one of my favorite writers, Max Lucado.  This is Lucado’s ‘blessing’ for 2/9/2012.  He called it “Oh Boy — My Favorite!

“Imagine with me, the diary of a dog. 

     8:00 a.m.–Oh boy!  Dog food–my favorite!

     9:40 a.m.–Oh boy! A walk–my favorite!

And, so it goes–Oh boy–my favorite.

On the other hand consider the cat!

Day 283 of my captivity.  While they dine lavishly on fresh meat, I’m forced to eat dry cereal.  I’m sustained by the mild satisfaction I derive from ruining a few pieces of furniture. 

One, grateful, the other grumpy.  Same house.  Same master. Yet two entirely different attitudes.

So which diary reads more like yours?

Gratitude!  It’s the first born child of grace, the appropriate response of the blessed.  Immerse yourself in the curriculum of grace!  It’s so easy to be distracted.  So easy to be ungrateful!

Oh boy!  My favorite!  It’s a day changer!  Choose to make every day a great day.

My guess is that many people don’t realize – or act as if – they have a choice.  Many have never taken the time to make a conscious decision to turn every day into a ‘Great Day’!  Well, starting today, you can decide what kind of day you’re going to have – and you can decide that in advance of the day’s beginning.  It’s a choice!  It’s based on how you choose to see things!  Are you surrounded by inconveniences?  You can work through those.  Are you surrounded with people who focus on the negatives?  You can respond positively to them.  Does it seem that your whole life is just a mess?  You’ll get through all of this.  Get your attitude in a place where you realize that 1) This is your life, and 2) You can live this life on your terms.

Maybe these little hints will assist you in getting things turned from negative to positive beginning right now: 

*”The happiest of people don’t necessarily have the best of everything, they just make the most of everything that comes their way!” 

*”I’ve learned that you can tell a l;ot about a man (woman) by the way he (she) handles these three things:  a rainy day, lost luggage, and tangled Christmas tree lights.”

*”An attitude of gratitude flavors everything you do.  Learning to be thankful is the golden thread woven through every truly successful life.”  -Charlie Tremendous Jones.

So, now the ‘ball’ is in your court.  What kind of day are you going to have?  You choose!

Leave a comment